Propellerhead Reason 4 opening files very slow RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I recently purchased a Compaq Presario with Windows 7.

My major problem just now as a music producer by profession I use Propellerhead Reason 4.0 and since intalling it I have encountered one basic problem that i can't resolve and hoped you may be able to help me.

When the programme is opened everything works as it should except when I go to browse or open any files in the programme. All i seem to get is a spinning circle for about 10 minutes(sometimes longer) before finally letting me look at any vst's or folders. It sometimes takes a long time for a selected file to load as well. The good news is that once this is opened everything works just fine but the browsing is so slow i am at my wits end.

It is making production incredibly slow to the point where an hours work consists of mainly chosing an intrument, by this point I am too frustrated and bored of waiting that I give up completely. I have tried all manner of troubleshooting and using speed up my pc with constant virus checks. my hard drive has plenty of space and there shouldn't be this problem as I had this software on a far less powerful system using XP and i never encountered this before.

Is there any way of making browsing/opening files/folders open without waiting a long time? I have to say I am not a big fan of this spinning circle everytime I try anything and just want to get on with making my music again. i am not a wiz technically but I can't go on going through this tediously slow ritual everytime I want to change an instrument/patch. Please, Please, Please can you give me some advice on how to speed this problem up as everything else works as it always has and fixing this small but frustrating problem would effectivelt change my life (Making music on this software is very important to me).

Your sincerely,

S

Friday, July 9, 2010 8:23 AM

Answers

• Hi,