none
Working on a Hibernate timer .bat script RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to write a simple script that will put my Win.7 computer into 'Hibernate' after a designated number of minutes. I want this to open from my desktop, prompt me to input how many minutes I would like to wait, and then execute the operation when the time comes. I have other ideas on how to improve the script, but I would really just like basic function operable. I am very new to writing scripts and started with someone else's script, which looks like this:

HibTimer.bat

@echo off
    set /p time=How many minutes until hibernate? :
    cls
    for /L %%A in (%time%,-1,0) do (
    echo shutdown -h in %%A minutes
    ping localhost -n 60 >null
    cls
    )
    shutdown -h

As is, this has worked decently. The two big issues I have with it are:

1) Inputting high values upon the prompt causes the hibernation to occur immediately.

2) The script creates a blank desktop icon titled 'null'

Can someone please help me understand what this script is doing (particularly after the "for /L" bit?) And how I could maybe improve it to better deal with my issues?

Honestly, I would have preferred to have started from scratch, but I am trying to get something working sooner than later to resolve a (completely different) reoccuring issue I am experiencing with my built-in Windows inactivity hibernate schedule.

Thanks 1000x

• Edited by StarkTony Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:06 AM
    Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:05 AM

Answers

• %time% is an inbuilt variable. You should not use it for your own purposes.
    Your code directs the output from ping.exe to a file called "null". To suppress the output you must use the "nul" device (single L).

This code should work:

@echo off
    set /p timeout=How many minutes until hibernate? 
    set /a timeout=%timeout% * 60
    timeout /t %timeout% > nul
    echo shutdown -h

Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:26 AM

All replies