Pre-staging applicaitons on Windows 7 RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone I am a little new to App-V but I got everything setup and it runs beautifully.  When setting up a XP client I can logging as a user to cache all of the apps I want so they will be there ready when someone calls upon them.   But with Windows 7 and it's method of configuring the default user profile "Audit Mode" you cannot join a domain or login as a member of a domain.  How would I cache those same apps as I would on XP?

Thanks,

Jason O.

Friday, June 11, 2010 10:14 PM

Answers

• The cache is unique to each desktop and the behaviour between operating system version is the same - so you should be able to pre-cache the application in your image on Windows 7 just the same as Windows XP. 

Once the image is deployed and users logon, the client should connect to the App-V Management Server and add the shortcuts for those applications that the user is entitled to. Once the user then launches the application, it should then launch from cache.

You can add packages into the cache by one of two ways:

1. Logon with an account that is a member of the application groups, then open the App-V console and load each application to 100%

2. Use the SFTMIME ADD PACKAGE and SFTMIME LOAD PACKAGE commands

Again this works exactly the same way on each operating system - no difference between Windows XP and Windows 7. Additionally there should be no need to add anything to the default user profile.

• Proposed as answer by znack Thursday, June 24, 2010 4:38 AM
    • Marked as answer by Aaron.ParkerModerator Monday, December 19, 2011 1:40 PM
    Tuesday, June 22, 2010 2:36 PM

All replies

• Hello,

How are you distributing applications?

/Znack

Saturday, June 12, 2010 7:11 AM
  • Hello,

How are you distributing applications?

/Znack

Znack,

We are using the standard Application Virtualization method, not SCCM.  One server small test group.

Thanks,

Jason

Monday, June 14, 2010 1:45 PM
  • Hello,