SharePoint server 2013 - July 2017 Uber Update - After run exe file, SharePoint sites no longer work RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All

This is my first try on our SharePoint test farm and run into this issue.  

I download all July, 2017 Uber files for SharePoint server 2013.

I ran this ubersrv2013-kb3213569-fullfile-x64-glb.exe as administrator.  the file was unzip and completed successful.

I have not run SharePoint configuration wizard yet and just want to check if SharePoint sites are up.  But when I checked all the sites are not working (can't browse) anymore and got a "Sorry something went wrong" and a correlation ID.  Only Central Administration site is come up OK.

I checked ULS log for correlation ID and got this error and nothing else indication

System.Web.HttpException: The DataSourceID of 'TopNavigationMenu' must be the ID of a control of type IHierarchicalDataSource.  A control with ID 'topSiteMap' could not be found.

I like to know if this is expected and I will need to continue with running configuration wizard or this is an issue and I need to resolve it before running configuration wizard.

Thanks for your advice or comment

Swanl

Tuesday, May 15, 2018 9:37 PM

Answers

• Hi,

There are multiple reasons could cause this issue. Is there any customization in the site?

One possible reason is the issue with loading some of the dlls from SafeControl zone in web.config.

Try recycling the app pool that host the web application and restarting the site from IIS Manager, compare the results.

If it does not work, please check more error message in the ULS log.

Note: Be aware that July 2017 CU for SharePoint 2013 require SharePoint Server 2013 SP1 to be installed first.

Here is a blog about how to install and deploy update for SharePoint server step by step for your reference:

https://vigneshsharepointthoughts.com/2016/11/14/patching-a-sharepoint-2013-farm-step-by-step-installation-guide/

Best Regards,

Linda Zhang