none
Project Server 2013 initial installation issues RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am new to MS Sharepoint and MS Project 2013 Server.  Please let me know if I am looking in the wrong place or what information is needed to best diagnose my current issue installing a standalone Project 2013 Server.

I started with a brand-new Windows Server 2008 R2 virtual machine, with all the Important Windows Updates.

I followed the steps at  http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc197667(v=office.15)    successfully to the last step 8.

When I ran the SharePoint Products Configuration Wizard, I got the error

---

Configuration Failed
    One or more configuration settings failed.  Completed configuration settings will not be rolled back.  Resolve the problem and run this configuration wizard again.  The following contains detailed information about the failure:
    Failed to create sample data.

An exception of type System.NullReferenceException was thrown. Additional exception: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

To diagnose the problem, review the application event log and the configuration log file located at :
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Web Server Extensions\15\LOGS\PSCDiagnostics_9_11_2013_17_48_27_974_1573423007.log

Click Finish to close the wizard.
    ---

I have done some research into the problem, but would appreciate some tips on how to proceed.

I've manually shared C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office Servers\15.0\Data\Office Server\Analytics_ea3ebb06-c49a-41c9-afd1-1bc4c9aa5777 with Full Access for the user mentioned, and for Authenticated Users.

I tried the fix at http://www.myriadtech.com.au/blog/James/Lists/Posts/Post.aspx?ID=57 on another VM several weeks ago, and broke everything, thus necessitating the clean start.  I'm willing to try it again, but I will make a snapshot of the VM first.

Thursday, September 12, 2013 8:14 PM

All replies

• The Event Viewer shows this error

---

Failed to create sample data.