Cordless Logitech Mouse - "INF written for Windows 95 or later, driver missing entry file" RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I've been using my Logitech V450 Laser Cordless Mouse for a few months now. I'm running Vista Ultimate (all updates installed). I've recently reformatted my computer and now am having issues getting my V450 to work. When I insert the USB receiver, Windows attempts to install and comes back with the error:

"INF written for Windows 95 or later, driver missing entry file".

The device works on my other computer running Vista Home Premium no problem.

I then installed  Logitech's SetPoint 4.40. The mouse then showed up as an 'Unknown Device' in Control Panel. After telling Vista to reinstall the driver, it says:

"Windows has determined the driver software for your device is up to date. 'Logitech HID-compliant Cordless Mouse'"

but remains as an unknown device. Is there a solution beyond reformatting again? I don't want to waste time doing that just to get a mouse to work.

The computer that the mouse doesn't work on has all the same usb*.inf files that the computer the mouse does work on has.

When trying to manually choose what driver to install, and choosing the "Logitech HID-compliant Cordless Mouse", Vista treats me with this error:

"Windows cannot start this hardware device because its configuration information (in the registry) is incomplete or damaged. (Code 19)"

I've tried numerous approaches of removing the driver and auto-finding one or manually choosing one, all to no avail.

Thank you very much in advance for any help you can provide,

Have a great day.

Chris

Tuesday, April 8, 2008 5:45 PM

Answers

• Okay, well, I fixed it. Thought I'd let others know how.

(Note, although I consider myself very knowledgeable about computers, this was slightly outside my domain. Hopefully someone can clarify exactly what pellet of my buckshot actually hit the target [odd analogy, I know.])