none
Stopping Windows 10 apps from running (xbox, candy crush) on a domain

Question

• Hi all,

I hope someone can help me. I am an IT technician working in a school. We had some machines that were on the domain updated to windows 10. 

We have a server, windows server 2008 R2 (DC) running but I am having trouble with stopping programs being used like candy crush, xbox and such services. Kids are over the moon but from an IT and educational point of view this isn't great. So the question is. Can I stop these apps from being downloaded and being used and if not does anybody have a script that I could use in a group policy to disable this feature?

Many Thanks in advance.

Friday, November 20, 2015 2:01 PM

Answers

• Hi Jacques,

You probably need to take a look at the Group Policy settings under the path below:

Computer Configuration\Policies\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\Store

1. Disable all apps from Windows Store - This turns off the launch of all apps from the Windows Store that came pre-installed or were downloaded. Apps will not be updated.

2. Turn off the Store application - If you enable this setting, access to the Store application is denied. Access to the Store is required for installing app updates.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Ethan Hua

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help, and unmark the answers if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com

Monday, November 23, 2015 9:48 AM

All replies

• Hi Jacques,

You probably need to take a look at the Group Policy settings under the path below:

Computer Configuration\Policies\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\Store

1. Disable all apps from Windows Store - This turns off the launch of all apps from the Windows Store that came pre-installed or were downloaded. Apps will not be updated.