none
Need a script (or two) that will set a users manager from an imported csv containing the EmployeeIDs of BOTH the user and the manager RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a newbie and still getting the hang of all this, appreciate the help!

I need to BULK update the "Manager" field in AD (which I understand needs to be the DN value) for over 1000 employees.

I've got a csv. file that contains the following fields (queried from HR psoft)

EmployeeID, Title, Phone, Username(not SamAccountName), Email, LastName, GivenName, Location, SupervisorID

*EmployeeID and SupervisorID are both populated with the appropriate user's EmployeeID -- I need to query for the "supervisors" DN and then use that value to SetADuser's  "Manager" name.

I'd love to submit what I have here but I haven't had too much success yet, I've been cutting and pasting various scripts that come close but can't seem to get the right combinations.

I'm happy with 1st generating a list of CN's from an edited csv file containing just the SupervisorID and then adding that column to the original csv file and going from there but I'd like to know I'm on the right track.

Thanks again for any suggestions and for your time.

Tedzo67  (Using PS or QuestAD)

• Edited by Tedzo_67 Wednesday, December 14, 2016 10:57 PM
    Wednesday, December 14, 2016 7:46 PM

Answers

• Please fix the title of your question.

The manager field takes a distinguishedname and not a CN.

Import-Csv is the command to run. See the help on how to use this.

Get-AdUser -Filter "EmployeeID -eq '$($_.EmployeeID)'"

will get you the user from the ID.

\_(ツ)_/

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 8:57 PM

All replies

• Please fix the title of your question.

The manager field takes a distinguishedname and not a CN.

Import-Csv is the command to run. See the help on how to use this.

Get-AdUser -Filter "EmployeeID -eq '$($_.EmployeeID)'"

will get you the user from the ID.

\_(ツ)_/

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 8:57 PM
  • thanks for the reply jrv: