none
Problems connecting to Synology NAS in Windows 10 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I've recently purchased a new laptop running Windows 10 Home (v1703) and am having problems connecting to my Synology NAS. 

Apologies for the lack of technical detail / knowledge, but I'm a novice when it comes to these things.

I can access the NAS drive through web browsers with the IP address, and it's showing in "Network" in Explorer. However, whenever I try to access it through Explorer (e.g. to map one of my shared folders) I get the following error message:

"Windows cannot access \\LONGDISKSTATION

Check the spelling of the name.  Otherwise, there might be a problem with your network.  To try to identify and resolve network problems, click Diagnose.

Error code: 0x80070035

The network path was not found."

So far as I can tell, there's not a problem with the drive as I can access it through web browsers and can access it on other devices - e.g. non-Windows 10 PCs, iPhone / iPad and my Sonos system.  Having said that, when I run Synology Assistant on my laptop, it doesn't seem to be able to find the NAS drive, even though it's clearly there and apparently can be seen by Windows.

I've tried the basics, such as disabling my firewall and anti-virus, but that doesn't make any difference.

I've had a look at some of the Google threads on this but - honestly - I'm a novice it when it comes to these things and I'm not sure I'm looking in the right place.

If anyone can offer an solutions - in plain English that a layman can follow! - that would be appreciated.

Thanks

Adam

Friday, September 8, 2017 6:57 AM

All replies

• See Can't find Synology NAS on Windows 10 and try the suggestions in that thread. Any further advice applying those of if they do not help post back.
    • Proposed as answer by astro-tech Saturday, October 27, 2018 8:56 PM
    Saturday, September 9, 2017 8:55 PM
  • Hi Adam,