none
Windows 7/Server 2008 Security Eventlog VB Script RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

This is my first time posting here so I hope someone can help me.  I have a VB Script that I use that grabs the security event logs and parses them into an excel spread sheet.  Everything works great with one exception, I would really like a field to display the actual username or account ID that triggered the event.  I have a username field set up in the excel document, but due to the format of the windows 7 security eventlogs the username is blank because the actual username is contained within the message of the event instead of being its own category within the event.  I am pretty new when it comes to scripting and I was hoping that someone has figured out how to do this or can at least point me to some examples that I can try out.  I would imagine that I would have to query the actual event message to extract that data but I do not know the syntax to do so.

I apoligize in advance if any of my terminology is incorrect.  Like I said, I am new to scripting. Please be gentle.

Friday, December 12, 2014 3:33 PM

Answers

All replies

• Your post isn't really a scripting question but more of a vague idea of what you think you need to do.

You need to ask a more precise and specific question. The following posts will give you some guidance on how to ask a good question:

-- Bill Stewart [Bill_Stewart]

Friday, December 12, 2014 4:09 PM
  • Hi,

I suggest leaving VBScript behind and learning PowerShell instead. This article may be helpful:

http://jkeohan.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/query-security-log-using-powershell/

This will most likely be way over your head to begin with, so I highly suggest starting here and getting your feet wet before even trying anything in the article linked above:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/scriptcenter/dd793612.aspx

Don't retire TechNet! - (Don't give up yet - 13,085+ strong and growing)

Friday, December 12, 2014 4:16 PM