Outlook 2016 default message font has changed, cannot revert. "set as default" grayed out RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using Outlook 2016 for several months and I'm very happy with it. 

Two days ago, I accidentally touched several keys on the keyboard at the same time, and since then the default message text for all message types has changed from 12 pt to 11pt! When I go to file/options/mail/stationery & fonts/, it has selected "+body" as my font at the top of the font list, the font size is 11pt, and most of the strikethrough/ superscript/subscript/small caps etc boxes are filled in with a black square. If I uncheck them all, change size back to 12pt, change font to calibri, the "set as default" box is still grayed out, so I can't revert to my original standard.

I also find that I can't edit my signatures any more; I can place the cursor in the signature box, but I can't select any text, so I can't change any characteristics of the signature. 

I know this sounds unbelievable but believe me it happened! How do I revert to my preferred default message characteristics please?

Simon Brew

Tuesday, July 25, 2017 8:19 AM

Answers

• The "Set As Default" button has always been a dud in that dialog as it is basically a repurposed Font dialog that is also being used in other parts of Office. You can leave the black squares as well as that only indicates that that font has that capability.

When you set your preferences in that dialog, press OK until you return to Outlook and then create a new email, is the font correct then?

As for the Signature issue; Can you still create new signatures and select the default signature from the drop down lists?

Also, are you in a corporate environment? If so, it could be that your corporate admin has recently deployed several defaults by Group Policy.

Additionally, could you post your exact build number in full as reported in;
    File-> Office Account

Robert Sparnaaij [MVP-Outlook]