No built in headers, footers, or page numbers. RRS feed

• Question

• When I insert a header or a footer there are no built in formats in the header or footer tabs. I can select "edit header" and set one up, but the page numbers will not work at all. If I go to the "more options from Office.com" button, it just says "no online content available". I am a student and purchased Office 2010 Professional Plus from my school. I don't want to pay a couple hundred bucks to be able to use what should be a very basic function of Word. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Saturday, February 11, 2012 9:59 PM

Answers

• Try the following: Exit Word. Then rename the Built-in Building Blocks template in your user profile. By default, you’ll find it in a subfolder of the C:\Users\YourWindowsUserNameHere\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Document Building Blocks folder. Restart Word when you are done.

Stefan Blom, Microsoft Word MVP
    • Marked as answer by ataylor140 Sunday, February 12, 2012 2:31 AM
    Sunday, February 12, 2012 12:13 AM

All replies

• Try the following: Exit Word. Then rename the Built-in Building Blocks template in your user profile. By default, you’ll find it in a subfolder of the C:\Users\YourWindowsUserNameHere\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Document Building Blocks folder. Restart Word when you are done.

• Marked as answer by ataylor140 Sunday, February 12, 2012 2:31 AM
    Sunday, February 12, 2012 12:13 AM
  • That took care of it. That was pretty easy but I never would have figured it out. Thank you sooo much.
    Sunday, February 12, 2012 2:31 AM
  • "ataylor140" wrote in message news:707b97cf-a18c-453a-812b-25ff6fcca595@communitybridge.codeplex.com...
    That took care of it. That was pretty easy but I never would have figured it out. Thank you sooo much.

You are welcome.

Sunday, February 12, 2012 12:16 PM