AlwaysOn Management Pack not functioning - SCOM 2007R2 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all

I am a DBA but am new to SCOM and have been trying to get the AlwaysOn Management pack to work.  I manually installed some agents on the 2 boxes I want to manage and can see they are being monitored in the inventory.

The management pack was already pre-installed by another employee but when I looked into the Administration > Management Packs and clicked on Import I could see that for that particular pack the AlwaysOn features were not installed.  Thinking this was the reason why it was not working I installed them.

I can now see when I go to Discovered Inventory and Change Target Type the AlwaysOn components however they are not monitoring anything.  The only one with an entry is the AlwaysOn seed which shows the 2 boxes, but in a not monitored state.

Does anyone have any suggestions about how to get this to work?

Many thanks

• Edited by Thomas Rhea Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:56 PM
    Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:56 PM

All replies

• Hi all - I take it no one has come across a similar situation before?   If anyone can point me in a direction of SCOM things to check I would be grateful.   The SCOM servers are in a different domain to the ones being monitored if there is any extra config I need to do for that?

Thursday, January 24, 2013 1:57 PM
  • Hi

SQL needs Run As Accounts and Profiles configuring:

http://blogs.technet.com/b/kevinholman/archive/2010/09/08/configuring-run-as-accounts-and-profiles-in-r2-a-sql-management-pack-example.aspx

Is the SQL DBEngine discovered and do you see discovered databases on the server. I suspect you do as it seems to have discovered the Always On components but just want to check.

Also have you enabled the Agent Proxy setting - Admininstration, Agent Managed, double click - security tab.

Have you run through page 43 onwards from the guide:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=10631

Cheers

Graham