Content editor RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am totally new to sharepoint, so hopefully this is an easy question and just me not on top of things.

I am trying to add external content to a page in sharepoint (office server 2007)

I expected to find the "content editor web part" in the gallery, but it is simply not there.

What am I doing wrong? Help is very much appreciated

Thanks

Bo
    Tuesday, November 25, 2008 12:12 PM

Answers

• Hi Bo

On that list what happens if you click on new.  Also what type of site did you create i.e. team site, document workspace etc..

Also can you check what features on your site are enabled, I believe the publishing feature whold be activated for this.

regards

Richard Hogan, Development Manager, SDT Ltd, www.sdt.co.uk
    Tuesday, November 25, 2008 3:32 PM

All replies

• Hi

The content editor web part should appear under the miscellaneous section of your web part list (you do not need to go the the advanced web part gallery).  However, I do not think this is the control you are going to need, as you state that you want to add external content.  The content editor web part is primarily used to allow your users to add the own custom content, not to extract external content and display it.

Can you clarify exactly what you are trying to achieve.

regards
    Tuesday, November 25, 2008 12:41 PM
  • Hi Richard,

We develop a reporting package. Reports can be displayed within its own framework, or disconnected from the framework -to be integrated in other web portals. This is ususally done by placing them in iframes or in embedded browsers in applications. The disconnected report has its own url, and is (currently) a whole html document -but we can of course modify that if only certain parts are needed.

I did see mentioned a different web part that looked right as well (cant remember the name) but I did not have that available either

Thanks
    Bo

PS - under miscellaneous, only "Contact Details" appear