none
Date format using space as date separator rather than forward slash! RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm new to Windows 7 (Home Premium 32-bit) and I just can't figure out what's going on here! Basically I want my short date format to be dd/mm/yyyy (UK format) e.g. 05/11/2010, but when I key a date into Excel 2002 it is appearing as 05 11 2010. In Control Panel I have the short date format set to ddd dd/MM/yyyy and the example is shown as Fri 05/11/2010, but in Excel all the date formats are shown with space separators, e.g. 14 03 2001! I don't think it's an Excel problem though as in Windows Task Scheduler the dates are shown with spaces there e.g. '19:25 on Mon 01 11 2010'. The date by the clock though is shown correctly with slash separators!

I know in Windows XP you can select the date separator from a drop-down list, but this option seems to be absent in Windows 7. Under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\International in the registry, sDate was set to a space, but changing that to a slash (and rebooting) didn't fix the problem.

Does anyone have any ideas please what's wrong and how to fix it?

Thanks
    Steven
    Sunday, November 7, 2010 12:56 PM

Answers

• Hi Steven,

Thanks for the post!

When you set the Short date to ddd dd/MM/yyyy, the date by the clock is shown with slash, however, the date in Task Scheduler doesn’t show the slash. This behavior is by design. When you double click the time and the trigger tab (for example) in task scheduler, the details are shown with slash.

When you change the Short date to dd/MM/yy, the date in the Task Scheduler and the clock become the same.

For the Excel date problems, I recommend you ask this question in Office Forum.

The reason why we recommend posting appropriately is you will get the most qualified pool of respondents, and other communities who read the forums regularly can either share their knowledge or learn from your interaction with us. 

Thanks for your understanding and cooperation!