SharePoint Server 2016 Installation woes RRS feed

• Question

• First, am I in the right place? I don't see any topics relating to SharePoint 2016. If I'm using some kind of experimental bleeding edge technology, tell me now.

I'm a web developer for a small IT group. Our CIO entrusted me with the task of becoming our "SharePoint expert", and I'm happy to fill the role. The problem thus far is that I can't even immerse myself in the SharePoint environment because the server refuses to install. I've done my best to follow the sparse documentation on the subject:

Running Windows Server 2012 on a VirtualBox virtual machine with SQL 2014 installed. Both are 180 day trial versions.
    Running another Windows Server 2012 on another VirtualBox machine. This one is the one I'm trying to install the 180 day trial version of SharePoint Server 2016 to.

The virtual machines are networked and can see each other, and when I last checked, can see the host machine. 5 hours ago when I first started this, I tried to get both SQL Server 2014 and SharePoint server running on the same virtual machine, but the implication of the many help posts I read seemed to tell me to make two virtual machines at least.

The error I'm hitting comes when I run the SharePoint 2016 Products Configuration Wizard. My settings are as follows:

Connect to an Existing Server Farm
    Database Server: [Windows Server 2012 with SQL Server machine name]
    Database Name: Sharepoint_Config
    Passphrase checks out.
    Single Server Farm (for development testing)
    I do not specify a port number.
    Authentication provider is NTLM
    Host the central administration web application is set to yes.

Configuration task 3 of 10 fails and gives me the error

"Failed to connect to the configuration database.
    An exception of type System.InvalidOperationException was thrown. Additional exception information: 1387"

The log provides very little additional information: