none
Group Policy Results wizard Access Denied - which GPO settings stop this?

Question

• Greetings,

We recently applied about 300 computer security settings to implement "best practice" for security hardening. One area that causes grief is that I cannot run the Group Policy Results wizard from the GPMC against machines that have those settings. I can run it fine on those machines that don't have the settings. I am a domain admin.

I have looked through the 300 odd settings and cannot spot anything obvious that would stop RSOP from the GPMC. I know its not the firewall as we all run the same third party firewall. So does anyone have any clue on which GPO settings would break RSOP from the GPMC?

Thanks

David Z

Monday, July 27, 2015 1:38 AM

Answers

• I then removed the group policy with the security settings and I still could not rsop (after restarting of course). I then ran secedit with defltbase.inf and restarted and I could RSOP! So it was a tattoo setting that did it.
    Tuesday, July 28, 2015 10:05 PM

All replies

• > grief is that I cannot run the Group Policy Results wizard from the GPMC
    > against machines that have those settings. I can run it fine on those
    > machines that don't have the settings. I am a domain admin.

Check "Access this computer from the network"

Greetings/Grüße, Martin

Mal ein gutes Buch über GPOs lesen?
    Good or bad GPOs? - my blog…
    And if IT bothers me - coke bottle design refreshment (-:
    Monday, July 27, 2015 12:30 PM
  • Hi,

Could you please confirm the OS verison, can u run RSOP locally?Could you access those computers from network (RDP/ File share access)? I know u have said thats its not firewall but lets double check :) .

Please use the below link to check DCOM permission on those machines. 

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa393266(VS.85).aspx  

If the OS version on the problematic PC is XP, you can also refer to the following link:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/840634/en-us