VPN Connects but then disconnects, Windows Vista Ultimate RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using a VPN for several years that works fine under XP.  On my laptop running Windows Vista Ultimate SP1 (64 bit) I am able to connect briefly, after about 30 seconds I get disconnected and the redial screen appears.  I've tried disabling startup and services from MSCONFIG but the problem persists.  Nothing exceptional shows up in the system log.  There are several RAS Client entries in the Application Log, these are the last two:

CONNECTION: (EVENT ID 20225)

CoId={D60394DC-ED2B-497D-8776-F6327CC14F19}: The user mike-M1330\mike has dialed a connection named VPN Connection to the Remote Access Server which has successfully connected. The connection parameters are:

TunnelIpAddress = 10.92.253.14

TunnelIpv6Address = None

Dial-in User = CENTRAL\mhasen.

----------------------------
    DISCONNECTION: (Event ID 20226)

CoId={D60394DC-ED2B-497D-8776-F6327CC14F19}: The user mike-M1330\mike dialed a connection named VPN Connection which has terminated. The reason code returned on termination is 829.

----------------------------

The reason code 829 tranlates as ERROR_LINK_FAILURE and suggests that the connection failed, however, I get the same behavior when connected both wired and wireless, and my internet connectivitiy is stable during the VPN process.

Any ideas on troubleshooting would be appreciated.

Wednesday, April 29, 2009 4:34 PM

Answers

• Nicholas,
    Thanks for the reply.  I did review item 2 but no luck but thanks for forwarding it.  I also tried setting Properties, Security, Advanced, Optional Encryption on the VPN as a test with no change in the behavior. 

Some of the other troubleshooting steps I've tried are:
    1.  attempt the VPN connection from several locations,
    2.  attempt the VPN connection through wired network, wireless network, and over the Verizon Broadband Rev A network connections.