Link to My Documents Folder in Taskbar Not Link to Libraries RRS feed

• Question

• This is for a customer. I fix PCs for a living.

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit OS.

The Win 7 taskbar (horizontal bar at bottom of screen, the icons on left) has a Library icon that looks like a yellow manilla folder in a holder. It goes to a directory of the Libraries.

That is NOT what my customer wants. He wants a link in the taskbar DIRECTLY to the My Documents Folder i.e to C:\users\UserName\My Documents.

(1) Now I can remove the Manilla folder Library link by right clicking and selecting remove from taskbar BUT that does not solve the problem.

How can I get what I want in the taskbar

Possible Solution 1: Drag a link I created on the desktop to the My Documents folder down into the taskbar. This does not work because a tiny popup appears saying Add to Explorer. What I want is Add to Taskbar. Example: If I install iTunes and I drag the iTunes icon on the desktop down into the Taskbar a little window pops up saying Add to **Taskbar**   not Add to Explorer. And the iTunes icon appears on the taskbar. HOW CAN I MAKE THE SAME THINK WORK FOR A LINK TO THE MY DOCUMENTS FOLDER.

Possible solution 2: Change the Library link (manilla folder) to go to the My Documents folder or at least to the user profile (with My Documents, My Pictures etc ).

Now some may say that that means modifying Windows 7 so it is impossible. I say NOT SO (on the impossible part) . Because a similar problem exists in that the Document link in the Start menu goes to the Documents library and ditto for Pictures in the Start menu and so on.

BUT if you go to

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/92587-start-menu-user-folder-buttons-open-users-instead-libraries.html