none
2013 Project Professional - Task duration RRS feed

• Question

• I won't lie, I'm a Project Pro newbie.  I just started with a new company and I am tasked with improving business processes. One of which includes our adoption of Project Professional the way it's designed. We have been using it already for finanial management only. So they just threw in what would be acounted for on the money side. We are now using it to it's potential and correctly.

The question I have is this, if you have a task that spans over 2 months for example, and lets say 40 hours one month (January) and 10 the next month (February). If at the end of January, how do we account for the dollars from a budget perspective if the task is not complete and spans 2 or even 12 months? A work around i've been told we do currently is create a task that ends at each month and tag it as 100% complete. I just feel like there is a more efficent way of doing it. 

I hope this isn't a question that gets laughed at since I'm sure the solution is simple.

Thank you in advance,

Tony

Thursday, December 18, 2014 6:39 PM

All replies

• TMeezy75 --

In your description of the 2-month task, I am assuming that you mean that the Duration is 40 days (40 working days is about 2 months.  And I assume that 40 hours in the first month and 10 hours in the second month means that this is how much work the resource will do.  You can manage this by using Work Contours in the Task Usage view.  In your example, you would need to do the following:

1. Apply the Gantt Chart view and select the task in question.
    2. Right-click anywhere in the Gantt Chart pane and select the Show Split item on the shortcut menu.  This displays a split screen view with the Gantt Chart in the top pane and Task Form view in the bottom pane.
    3. In the Task Form pane, set the Task Type to Fixed Duration, enter a Duration value of 40 days, and then click the OK button.