SP 2010 Personalization site permissions ignored, unwanted users have 'read' access RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a fairly new admin to SP 2010, and have put together a personalization site (My Host Site).

In my area (/personal/amccollough) of the site, I have created a site "Foo" (/personal/amccollough/foo) for a team project. I have set site permissions manually. I have disabled inheritance. There are only three entries in the permissions list: Myself, the System Account (SHAREPOINT\system), and a SP group containing only the users (no groups) I want to have access to the site.

The problem is, any authenticated user has access to the Foo site. They end up with 'read' permission, but they shouldn't be able to get in at all. I used the "Check Permissions" button in the permissions ribbon to check a user who should not have access, and the Check Permissions utility returns "None".

So with inheritance disabled, and explicit permissions set, how are users not explicitly granted permission gaining read access?

• Edited by amccollough Tuesday, March 13, 2012 5:10 PM
    Tuesday, March 13, 2012 5:09 PM

Answers

•  

Hi,

As Chris said, there may be a permission policy of this web application granting read permission to all authenticated users.

You can check this by going to Central Administration>Application Management>Manage web applications>select the web application you want check>User Policy. If the all authenticated users are granted read permission here, they would have read permission on your site.

Thanks

Pengyu Zhao

TechNet Community Support

• Marked as answer by amccollough Tuesday, March 20, 2012 5:50 PM
    Tuesday, March 20, 2012 7:10 AM

All replies

• If you remove the SharePoint group from the permissions, does that remove access for the test user who shouldn't have read access?

They way you've described your issue, it shouldn't be happening, so there must be something else going on here.

- cawood

blog |  twitter

Tuesday, March 13, 2012 7:27 PM