IP-HTTPS Certificate Configuration RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, everyone.  I have set up the lab and everything works fine.  However, the production environment will use a third-party certificate, and is also load-balanced.  This leads me to ask the following questions:

1) for the IP-HTTPS certificate, does the cert need to have alternate names?  In other words, do I need to include the two server names as alternate names in order for the certificate to work?

2) am I correct in thinking that I need to publish the DirectAccess URL to the FIRST public IP address only?

3) and lastly... how do I go about generating the certificate request?  (I'm a complete newbie, so please bear with me.)  I understand that IIS can be used under certain circumstances.  Does IIS apply in this case?  I ask because I do not see any option to include alternate names when I use IIS.

Thank you ahead of time for your input.  I greatly appreciate it.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011 4:54 PM

Answers

• Hi load balancing means introducting DIP and VIP addresses. FQFN of your certificate name should point to a DNS name corresponding to your first virtual IP address on your load balancer. The same IPHTTPS certificate must be provisioned on each UAG nodes inside the farm.

If you use a third-party certificate, there is no need to publish your internal CRL. AT last, you can use IIS to generate your certificate request.

If you need more information abour DirectAccess deployment in load balancing (NLB scenario), you can follow my blog : http://danstoncloud.com/blogs/simplebydesign/archive/2010/08/11/directaccess-high-availability-with-uag-2010-part-1.aspx

Basics will be the same for HLB.

BenoitS - Simple by Design http://danstoncloud.com/blogs/simplebydesign/default.aspx
    Tuesday, December 6, 2011 5:18 PM

All replies