Configure Legacy link to OWA 2003 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am relatively new to Exchange and my company has asked me to "investigate" the possibilities to migrate from exchange 2003 to exchange 2010. So I made myself a test-lab with three servers; an AD, Exchange 2003 and an Exchange 2010. I've successfully managed to migrate my test-mailboxes to my new server. However when I will be doing this in production, it is obvious it will take me a lot longer to migrate the mailboxes. So I found a video where the 2010 CAS automatically reconnects to the exchange 2003 server when a mailbox isn't yet available on the 2010 server.

I've been searching for a property to configure this, but I cannot find it... I thought I could find the option on the 2010 OWA virtual directory, but I didn't, or I missed it.

Furthermore, I was wondering what is migrated with the New-MoveRequest (calendar?, shared calendar?, spamrules?, mailbox offcourse)

Thanks in advance,
    Wednesday, October 14, 2009 8:28 AM

Answers

• I've been searching for a property to configure this, but I cannot find it... I thought I could find the option on the 2010 OWA virtual directory, but I didn't, or I missed it.
    The cmdlet to set this redirection attribute would be...

Set-OWAVirtualDirectory -Identity "CASServer\owa (Default Web Site)" -Exchange2003URL https://legacymail.contoso.com/exchange

If you were migrating from 2007 or a 2007/2003 mixed environment you would use the same Exchange2003URL attribute and point to CAS2007 since CAS2007 can handle both 2003/2007 mailboxes for you.

-brian
    Brian Day / MCSA / CCNA, Exchange/AD geek.
    Wednesday, October 14, 2009 2:46 PM
  • Chinthaka,

Thank you very much for your reply, although I was looking for a solution for Exchange 2003, I found the solution through your link...

For Exchange 2003 the information is at: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee332348%28EXCHG.140%29.aspx