Windows Server 2012 R2 (Promoting a Domain Controller) RRS feed

• Question

• To whomever can help,

I'm still fairly new to the world of Powershell, so I'm not an experienced user. I'm trying to emulate what I've been reading in a book, to increase my understanding and knowledge. I was trying to promote my server to a domain controller.

One of the first steps that I read was to acquire the AD Binaries, which I successfully did. The next step was promoting the DC. I tried the command:

Test-ADDSDomainControllerInstallation -InstallDns -Credential (Get-Credential DomainName\User Name) -DomainName "Domain Name"  Format-List

Questions:

1. I bolded a few sections, because I want to make sure that I understand those. I'm assuming for Get-Credential, it wants the domain name and user name for an admin account, but I'm not 100% sure.

2. This is a trial version of 2012 R2, and it's currently a workgroup. Does it need to be in a domain first?

The book that I'm reading doesn't seem to want me to use the old DCPromo command, so I'm trying to follow along. Hopefully, I've provided enough info, but if I haven't, please ask.

Regards,

Friday, December 14, 2018 10:28 PM

Answers

• Is this the first DC in the domain?  If it is not then you must join the domain before trying to promote.

To create the second and later DCs start by joining the domain.  After the join and restart you can just promo the server with the options you require.  This is true with PS CmdLets or with DCPromo command.

\_(ツ)_/

• Edited by jrv Tuesday, December 25, 2018 10:46 PM
    • Marked as answer by jrv Wednesday, December 26, 2018 9:26 PM
    Tuesday, December 25, 2018 10:43 PM

All replies

• Also, I forgot, when I ran the command, it asked me for a SafeModeAdministratorPassword. I don't remember setting that up.
    Friday, December 14, 2018 10:41 PM
  • When first learning PowerShell you need to fist learn to use "help".  All of you issues are answered clearly in the help.