locked
Contribute and Deletion RRS feed

  • Question

  • I wan to have user contribute or add to a task, but i do not want them to delete the task.  can this be done and how?
    Your help is appreciated

    Thanks, sherene

    Thursday, January 20, 2011 9:04 PM

Answers

  • You should create a new permission or edit one of the existing permissions and edit the permission levels according to your requirement.

    If you want to modify an existing permission group, perform the follwowing steps:

    1. Go to the site/sub site
    2. Go to Site Actions --> Site Settings --> Modify All Site Settings
    3. Click Advanced Permissions from the Users and Permissions section
    4. From the Permissions list click Settings --> Permission Levels
    5. Click on the Permission that you want to edit
    6. Add the permissions that you require for this group.

    Thanks,
    Dip

    • Marked as answer by Mike Walsh FIN Tuesday, January 25, 2011 2:13 PM
    Friday, January 21, 2011 3:26 AM
  • I will revert to read only.  Thanks Dip
    • Marked as answer by sherene Tuesday, January 25, 2011 2:09 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by Mike Walsh FIN Tuesday, January 25, 2011 2:13 PM
    • Marked as answer by sherene Wednesday, January 26, 2011 8:03 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by sherene Wednesday, January 26, 2011 8:03 PM
    • Marked as answer by sherene Wednesday, January 26, 2011 8:03 PM
    Tuesday, January 25, 2011 2:09 PM

All replies

  • You should create a new permission or edit one of the existing permissions and edit the permission levels according to your requirement.

    If you want to modify an existing permission group, perform the follwowing steps:

    1. Go to the site/sub site
    2. Go to Site Actions --> Site Settings --> Modify All Site Settings
    3. Click Advanced Permissions from the Users and Permissions section
    4. From the Permissions list click Settings --> Permission Levels
    5. Click on the Permission that you want to edit
    6. Add the permissions that you require for this group.

    Thanks,
    Dip

    • Marked as answer by Mike Walsh FIN Tuesday, January 25, 2011 2:13 PM
    Friday, January 21, 2011 3:26 AM
  • Thanks Dip.  I actually did this, but what I realized is that they had access to change other fields for the task such as; assigned to, due date etc.  I only wanted them to attach a file if necessary.  Not seeing how this could be done but if it can your help is really appreciated. Thanks again

    Friday, January 21, 2011 3:06 PM
  • I will revert to read only.  Thanks Dip
    • Marked as answer by sherene Tuesday, January 25, 2011 2:09 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by Mike Walsh FIN Tuesday, January 25, 2011 2:13 PM
    • Marked as answer by sherene Wednesday, January 26, 2011 8:03 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by sherene Wednesday, January 26, 2011 8:03 PM
    • Marked as answer by sherene Wednesday, January 26, 2011 8:03 PM
    Tuesday, January 25, 2011 2:09 PM