none
IPAM Configuration and permissions RRS feed

• Question

• Hi experts,

I am new to IPAM and new administrator of this deployment. Previous admin quit and now I need to take over. I am trying to configure permissions so that users who will help me don't have full access and I want to decide who will have access to what. I can only see IPAM Admin, IPAM ASM, Audit, MSM and User Group and I need to know in which group should I add users to give
    specific permissions for dhcp and dns and whole IPAM and how to test this out.

Monday, July 3, 2017 9:32 AM

Answers

• Hi,

What do you mean by specific permissions? If you want for example to give permissions for only one scope, one dns zone etc. you will need to use RBAC instead of local administrative groups.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you found this post helpful, please give it a "Helpful" vote. 
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.

nedimmehic.org

• Marked as answer by ChristerV Monday, July 3, 2017 1:11 PM
    Monday, July 3, 2017 9:39 AM
  • Hi,

It is very important and I recommend that you learn about product not only IPAM but any product that you want to implement before you implement/take over it. I would recommend that you learn RBAC (Role based access control) and the whole IPAM before start using it. 
    If you login to your IPAM server and click on Access Control you will see 3 core components: Roles, Access Scopes and Access Policies

The core concept of RBAC is what you can do and where you can do it. 

ROLES –> are collections of privileges. They specify the tasks that can be performed, in another words what user will be able to do. 

ACCESS SCOPES –> determine how far and wide a particular role can go in the server. So if the Role is the what, the Access Scope is the where

ACCESS POLICIES –> are the combination of roles and access scopes.