locked
File already exists RRS feed

  • Question

  • One of our users had a file checked out but didn't need it anymore so deleted it.  Fair enough, no problems with that.  Another user has subsequently attempted to upload replacement for this file with the same name.  Sharepoint throws up an error telling him that "The specified name is already in use."  We've double checked and there definately isn't a file of that name, it's definately deleted!  We've had to upload it with a different name for the moment but (for reasons that would be too long winded to explain) we need it to have the filename of the file that was previously deleted.

    I know it's bad to edit the underlying SQL tables but I thought I'd go have a look in the dbo.AllDocs table to see if the file is represented there at all.  There is a record for the original file that was deleted.  Does sharepoint always keep a record of stuff even if it is deleted or should this row have been removed from the database when the file was deleted?

    Does anyone have any suggests as to why we can't reuse the name of a deleted file.  It's very frustrating and somewhat confusing!!

    thanks

    Dave

    • Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Tuesday, July 26, 2011 5:46 PM admin q (From:SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Tuesday, July 26, 2011 4:11 PM

All replies

  • Please review the Recycle Bin of your SharePoint.  Refer this article on more details:

    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-sharepoint-services-help/view-restore-or-delete-items-in-the-recycle-bin-of-a-sharepoint-site-HA010021434.aspx

     


    Thanks & Regards,
    Kamlesh | Blog | Twitter | Posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Tuesday, July 26, 2011 4:50 PM
  • You need to delete it from recycle bin of your site as well as your site collection. Also what version of sharepoint you are using and what it your patch level?
    Tuesday, July 26, 2011 6:47 PM
  • Hi,

     

    From your narration, one user had checked out a document and deleted it. Another user tried to upload a document whose name is the same as the old one’s.  It prompted “The specified name is already in use”.

     

    I suggest that you check “Add as a new version to existing files” option when you upload the new document with the same name. then check the effect.

     

    Thanks,

    Rock Wang

    Forum Support

    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.


    Regards, Rock Wang Microsoft Online Community Support
    Wednesday, July 27, 2011 3:55 AM
  • Hello

    We're on Sharepoint 2007 (12.0.0.6548).  I should have clarified that we've checked the Site Collection Recycle Bin and the file has been removed from there as well so it's been well and truely deleted :)

    I just tried to upload the replacement file with "Add as a new version to existing files" checked and got the error (sanitised but you get the idea):
    The file "http://oursite/documents/GMS-GYME-MA-3004.doc" is checked out or locked for editing by USERNAME

    Dave

     

    Wednesday, July 27, 2011 9:32 AM
  • Hi,

     

    Thanks for your reply.

     

    Just want to tell you that we have involved some senior engineers on this issue, and will get back to you as soon as possible. Thanks for your patient.

     

    Thanks,

    Rock Wang

    Forum Support

    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.


    Regards, Rock Wang Microsoft Online Community Support
    Saturday, August 6, 2011 3:44 AM
  • Hello,

    When you try to delete a file which is checked out it should ideally give you an error stating "The file is currently checked out or locked for editing by another user". And hence the only way to delete should be "discard check-out" / "check-in" and then delete? Was the delete performed this way?

    When a file is deleted initially only the DeleteTransactionId column is populated with value other than "0x".

    Could you login to SharePoint with that same user account who checked out this file, click on Site Actions > View Reports > Checked Out To Me and see if that file shows up there? If it does, could you try and deal with that first and see if the error still comes up?


    Please remember to click 'Mark as Answer' on the post that helps you or click 'Unmark as Answer' if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.

    Regards,
    Nishant Shah
    Microsoft Online Community Support
    • Proposed as answer by ManuelGB Wednesday, December 27, 2017 7:56 AM
    Wednesday, August 17, 2011 12:27 PM
    Moderator
  • Hi,

    I know this is an old thread. But I am facing the same issue in SharePoint 2010. Any solution yet?


    Dharmesh

    Wednesday, October 16, 2013 3:52 AM
  • Hello.

    I have the same problem and the Nishant's answer has solved it.

    Thanks.


    • Edited by ManuelGB Wednesday, December 27, 2017 8:00 AM
    Wednesday, December 27, 2017 8:00 AM