none
Questions on Content Filtering and Management. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

My name is Terry and I am a new IT manager for a small company that has some unique needs. We run a Tax Server and have around 100 offices spread across 4 states. Each offices has between 2 and 10 computers, many of which are over 5 years old. The company has had several previous Techs and there has never been real uniformity to how things were done. I am working hard to correct this.

My question is regarding methods for content filtering. I have a lot of computers spread over a large distance. I need to allow access to a small range of websites and block the rest. I am looking for a software solution that will allow me to control website access from a central location rather then setting each computer individually. The previous IT managers used software called K9 web protection but I have found this software to be very easy to bypass. Are there any better options out there?

I hope I have posted this question in the right place. Thank you for what ever information you can provide.

• Edited by Coyabbit Saturday, January 15, 2011 5:31 AM Spelling Error
    Saturday, January 15, 2011 5:15 AM

Answers

• Save yourself a ton of hassle and cash by using the free version of opendns.com.  Content filtering via dns redirection is SO MUCH EASIER than even using the filter on a firewall or client-side apps.  Just ensure you setup a firewall that only allows DNS queries out to 2 opendns IP addresses and then they can't bypass you by changing their dns to 8.8.8.8.

Once you setup all of your sites you can have either a single policy that manages all sites or individual policies.  If you need to include a single URL it's as easy as adding it and checking the add to all sites box.

So long as you only need to block the websites that people have access to, there's really no reason to using anything other than opendns.

Saturday, January 15, 2011 10:23 PM

All replies