Vista Upgrade Advisor won't install RRS feed

• Question

• I am running Windows XP Home (SP2) I have tried numerous times to install the Vista Upgrade Advisor.  I keep getting the following error codes;

Process id=0x824(2084), Thread id=0x74c(1868)

If I cancel to debug I get;

cordbg.exe !a0x824

Help!! please

Thursday, March 15, 2007 7:48 PM

All replies

• Do you have a 64-Bit system?
    Thursday, March 15, 2007 10:02 PM
  • To be quite honest I'm not that good with the very technical side so I'm not sure.  Having looked at a computer overview (produced by SiSoftware Sandra) I found this.  Can you tell from this if it is a 64 bit system?

Processor
    Model : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3000+
    Speed : 2.17GHz
    Model Number : 3000 (estimated)
    Performance Rating : PR3206 (estimated)
    Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
    Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
    Internal Data Cache : 64kB Synchronous, Write-Back, 2-way set, 64 byte line size
    L2 On-board Cache : 512kB ECC Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way set, 64 byte line size

Regards

Thursday, March 15, 2007 10:17 PM
  • Based on the specs here http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.html?i=1783 it seems like it is meant to be used  with a  64-Bit OS.

It should say on your copy of Windows XP which version it is (32-Bit or 64-Bit)

Thursday, March 15, 2007 11:00 PM
  • According to System Properties

Microsoft Windows XP

Home Edition

Version 2002

Service Pack 2

So I presume that means it is 32-Bit?

Regards

Thursday, March 15, 2007 11:24 PM
  • Windows XP Home was not sold in stores as a 64-Bit I don't believe, but they did come stock  with certain Intel Itanium and AMD64 systems.

It should say which version it is right on your CD label though.

Friday, March 16, 2007 7:39 AM
  • On th Cd it just gives the same info:  Windows Xp Home Edition Version 2002 and it also says "Service Pack 1a included".  I have Service Pack 2 installed.

I think you are probably right and that I am running 32-Bit.

Regards