Script to Check for existing user and if not, create new user RRS feed

• Question

• Hey,

I am new to Powershell and trying to create an algorithm that creates a new user but only after checking to see if the user exists.

I have looked around online at what others have done and have been playing around with my code, but I can't get the script to run correctly and create a new user.

This is what I have so far...

Any help would be appreciated
    --------------------------
    #Checking if user exists
    Function Get-ADUser {
    $Name = "$FirstName $LastName"

$User = Get-ADUser =LDAPFilter"(SAMAccountName=$Name)"
    If ($User -eq $Null) {
        return $false
        }
    Else {
        return $true
    }

#Checking if user exists

Function NewADUser{

Import-Module ActiveDirectoty -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue

New-ADUser `
        -Name "$FirstName $LastName" `
        -GiveName $FirstName `
        -Surname $LastName `
        -UserPrincipalName "$FirstName.$LastName" `
        -Path "OU=Office Administration_OU,OU=Departments,DC=EC_Bond,DC=com" `
        -AccountPAssword (Read-Host -AsSecureString "Enter Password") -Enabled $true
    }

#Adding logic to script
    cls
    $ch = checkuserExists $NewUserFirstName $NewUserSurname

[string]$NewUserFirstName = Read-Host -Prompt 'Please enter FirstName'
    [string]$NewUserSurname = Read-Host -Prompt 'Please enter Surname'

If ($ch) {
        Write-Host "The user you are trying to create already Exists"
        }
        Else {
            [string]$UserCreation = Read-Host -Prompt 'Would you like to create the user [Y] or [N]?'
            If ($UserCreation -eq "Y") {
                NewADUser $NewUserFirstName $NewUserSurname
            }
            Else {
                #Abort process
                Write-Host "Process Aborted"
            }
        }
    }

Sunday, November 3, 2019 9:42 AM

All replies