none
Adding attribute to a group of users with powershell RRS feed

• Question

• Hello there,

I am new to powershell, I am trying to add the GUID to extensionAttribute2

this works well for single user

$uGuid = (Get-ADUser AppleHo | Select -Expand ObjectGUID).toString()
    set-ADUser -Identity AppleHo -Add @{extensionAttribute2=$uGuid}

I attemp to do this for a OU of users, but hit in to error, can someone help me please?

$uGuid =(

Get-ADuser -Filter * -SearchBase "OU=Users,OU=IT,OU=Groups and External Service Accounts,DC=abc,DC=com,DC=eu"

-Properties ObjectGUID,,| ForEach-Object {

$_.ObjectGUID.toString()
    }
    )

$uDname =(
    Get-ADuser -Filter * -SearchBase "OU=Users,OU=IT,OU=Groups and External Service Accounts,DC=abc,DC=com,DC=eu" -Properties SAMAccountName | ForEach-Object {
    $_.SAMAccountName
    }
    )

Set-AdUser $uDName –add @{extensionAttribute2=$uGuid}

if I  quote the above "Set-AdUser $uDName –add @{extensionAttribute2=$uGuid}" i get the output but not on the users in the OU

cheers

• Edited by cskeng Wednesday, July 5, 2017 3:34 AM update code format
    Tuesday, July 4, 2017 9:42 AM

Answers

• Actually this should be enough:
    Get-ADuser -Filter * -SearchBase "OU=Users,OU=IT,OU=Groups and External Service Accounts,DC=abc,DC=com,DC=eu" -Properties ObjectGUID | 
        ForEach-Object { 
            Set-AdUser -Identity $_.SamAccountName -add @{extensionAttribute2=$_.ObjectGUID}
        }

And please when you post code here in the forum format it as code with the code formatting option in the editor. Thanks

Grüße - Best regards

PS:> (79,108,97,102|%{[char]$_})-join''

• Marked as answer by cskeng Wednesday, July 5, 2017 3:41 AM
    Tuesday, July 4, 2017 10:15 AM
  • Why would you want to do this:  The GUID is always attached to the account.

Get-ADuser -Filter * -SearchBase 'OU=Users,OU=IT,OU=Groups and External Service Accounts,DC=abc,DC=com,DC=eu' | 
    	ForEach-Object {