Recent crash problem with VBA code-bearing spreadsheets RRS feed

• Question

• Hi folks,

I've been redirected here from https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/msoffice/forum/msoffice_excel-mso_winother/ because my issue is apparently more complex than typically addressed there. I have reproduced my post from there unchanged below (except that I corrected the MS Office build number. Either I made a typo first time around, or it changed when Office was last updated on April 18 2017, after my original post on March 31).

First, the techy bits:

• Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1
    • Office 2013 build number 15.0.4919.1002 according to Programs list in Control Panel

I have an application that I have been developing for a couple of years now. Originally it was a single spreadsheet, but as it has grown, I have spread the load across several spreadsheets, after I figured out that I could get them to pull data from each other, using the indirect function. Provided the “server” spreadsheets are open when the "client" needs to pull, this works fine  … most of the time. Just occasionally, the pulling cells all return #REF!, even though the server spreadsheet is open and calculation mode is set to automatic. Initially, I thought it had to do with order of opening, so I started to make sure I always opened the server before the client, but that turned out to be a red herring. I can’t remember how long ago I started to use this technique, and in any case it is only an occasional and not reproducible error, so I can’t say if it was always an issue or only became one at some point subsequently. Also, it has (so far) always been fixable by closing and reopening the spreadsheets, so I have not pursued it as an issue requiring support. I mention it in case it is relevant to the big issue I am about to describe.