An error has occurred. Not all of the features were successfully Installed RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hello,

I've been trying to find a solution to this problem for quite a few months now without any luck... I did a big research and tried several things I found over the net and nothing worked. Everything points to the direction of re-installation of Vista.

The problem is that when I try to install IIS or any of its components (through Turn windows features on/off) , I get the message An error has occurred. Not all of the features were successfully Installed, and nothing gets installed.

I previously had IIS installed when I initially bought my pc and windows, but something happend with setting up IIS and it didnt work, so I tried to re-install it. From then on I never managed to install it.

I have Windows Vista Ultimate 64bits. And I am a professional Developer with my own company, I also recently bought Visual Studio Professional 2008 which gets stuck any time I try to do anything that has to do with websites.

I use my system professionally and I dont want to re-install my platform because I have to do many registrations to my software again, and many setups that will bring my company to a hault for many days!

What can I do to resolve the issue without paying 170 USD that Microsoft asks and without having to re-install windows that may bring me back to the same situation again??? And without the need to switch back to Windows XP???

Isnt there a simple way to clean up something in the system so it thinks IIS was never installed before???  There are MANY incidents like this, there is no formal answer from Microsoft, and the only solution I ve seen people do is to re-install Windows, but thats not acceptable for professionals...

Thanks

Emmanouil Filippou

UPDATE: This is a new installation on a new PC (no upgrade from other operating systems) and it has SP1 and all microsoft updates installed.

Wednesday, July 2, 2008 2:11 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi all,