W2K IAS Intermittent User Authentication over Wireless RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm a bit new to IAS and such, so please bear with me.

We have set up an Aruba wireless system that talks back to our Windows 2000 based IAS server. We use user authentication on our WPA2 SSIDs, and normally it works just fine - there's no issue.

Occasionally, however, we get denied users in the logs. These users will be able to log in one minute and access the wireless, but if they lose signal or roam, or put the system to sleep we can not guarantee they will be able to get back on without rebooting. We get a message in the taskbar saying 'Additional Information Is Needed to Connect To <SSID>'.

Looking at the logs, I see a discrepancy between access grants and denials:

User EXAMPLE\smithj was granted access.
     Fully-Qualified-User-Name = example.com/users/SmithJ
     NAS-IP-Address = 172.24.1.4
     NAS-Identifier = <not present>
     Client-Friendly-Name = Aruba-3400
     Client-IP-Address = 172.24.1.4
     NAS-Port-Type = 19
     NAS-Port = 0
     Policy-Name = Aruba wireless
     Authentication-Type = MS-CHAPv2
     EAP-Type = <undetermined>

And denied:

User EXAMPLE\smithj was denied access.
     Fully-Qualified-User-Name = EXAMPLE\smithj
     NAS-IP-Address = 172.24.1.4
     NAS-Identifier = <not present>
     Called-Station-Identifier = 000B86616664
     Calling-Station-Identifier = 0024D6AD2830
     Client-Friendly-Name = Aruba-3400
     Client-IP-Address = 172.24.1.4
     NAS-Port-Type = 19
     NAS-Port = 0
     Policy-Name = <undetermined>
     Authentication-Type = MS-CHAPv2
     EAP-Type = <undetermined>
     Reason-Code = 16
     Reason = There was an authentication failure because of an unknown user name or a bad password.