none
The tab "Window" in MS Project always shows the same project no matter what project is selected. Why? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

We are using MS Project Professional 2007 with a Master schedule and a number of projects inserted into it.

At the top of MS Project there are a  number of tabs like FILE, EDIT, WINDOW

When I select Window it shows me NEW WINDOW, ARRANGE ALL, etc. and it also shows me Project A. The problem is it always shows me Project A in the WINDOW tab no matter what project I have up.

If I open Project 1 it shows Project A when I click on the Window tab.

If I open two projects it shows only Project A. If I open the Master file it shows Project A.

Question 1. Why does MS Project only show me this one file in the WINDOW tab?

Question 2. If I have a Master file open and Project 2 open what does show me what is in the foreground?

Thanks

Saturday, June 23, 2012 9:22 PM

Answers

• I guess I applaud you being able to get 500 people on the same project to use Project.  My experience is vastly different. I've found that few people really know how to use Project correctly and so to avoid the big issues and project risks caused with so many people using Project to compute different results (regardless of Service Pack), I've always limited Project use to only those qualified and trained (or at least with demonstrable ability) and be part official governance via being in the Project Planning/Controls/Cost/Schedule parts of the project organisation.  They release *results* of project cost/schedule planning in reports that in addition to having the "data" about a project, it also has "information" and "guidance" about what all the data really means.  Accordingly, from a technology perspective, we always make sure that everyone who uses Project uses exactly the same version and make sure (moving mountains with recalcitrant IT departments sometimes!) that is the case.

--rms www.rmschneider.com

Monday, June 25, 2012 7:52 AM

All replies