none
HIS 2010 Minimum Topology Requirements RRS feed

• Question

• HI, 

Given that I've never used HIS before, I was asked to assess the bare minimum requirements in terms of HIS instances required to give access to a legacy application on mainframe from a custom .NET application granting a minimum level of high availability; I know that this sentence could be in some way contradictory but the point is to minimize the costs related to the Biztalk 2010 license required (that,  as far as I understood, has to come in the Enterprise edition in order to enable scaling out/high availability scenarios).

Now, I imagine two HIS nodes where on each node I have installed a SNA Gateway Service and a Transaction Integrator component; is this assumption correct or is there something wrong in this kind of basic topology? Is this acceptable from a performance and scalability point of view? I know that is suggested to separate the deployment of the Transaction Integrator server (on a dedicated application server) from that of the SNA Gateway services, but again, the first objective is to keep down the license cost of Biztalk (being HIS under the same hat). 

Thanks for any feedback on the question.

Friday, December 14, 2012 4:28 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Do you plan only to use the SNA Gateway and Transaction Integrator Component ? 

You also can use HIS to connect to DB2 and for 3270 Emulation.

In all this scenarios a good architecture is the key of success. Depending on the load you would like to scale, 2 servers would be enough to start.

You may use Virtual Servers or Virtual Servers. Depending on what you want to do, a physical server with SSD disks would be the best if you plan to have a high load of executions.