sharepoint 2010 backup using powershell RRS feed

• Question

• hi,

I am new to sharepoint 2010 and powershell.  I performed a full farm backup using Central Admin but I need to make scheduled nightly backups using powershell or stsadm.  I was told to use powershell as stsadm is for backward compatible.  I would like to schedule regular backups using windows scheduled but do not know how to create the batch files for to run the powershell backup.  Does anyone have some example scripts that I could put into a batchfile to run.   Any other ideas would also be appreciated.
    Thursday, February 18, 2010 7:16 PM

Answers

• When you do a Farm level backup, SharePoint tells SQL to do database dump to that location. Here are some things that have to work in order for a farm backup to work:

1. Your Central Admin app pool account must have read/write access to the location of the backups.
    2. Your SQL Service account must have read/write access to the location of the backups.
    3. If you're running a farm backup from STSADM or Windows PowerShell, the account you're running it as must have read/write access to the location of the backups
    4. The location must be accessible from the SharePoint machine the backup is running on.
    5. The location must be accessible from the SQL instance that SharePoint is trying to back up.
    6. This is why all the examples are UNCs, \\server\share, and not local paths, C:\backups
    7. Hope that helps,

tk

Sunday, March 28, 2010 5:09 PM
  • Windows PowerShell script files are .ps1 files.

You can use Backup-SPFarm to do it. For help and examples, type get-help Backup-SPFarm -examples.

For example, the follow script will start a full backup to e:\backup. 

Backup-SPFarm -Directory E:\Backup -BackupMethod full

Save it as E:\Scripts\BackupSharePointFarm.ps1.  You may need to use "set-executionpolicy RemoteSigned" to allow a local unsigned ps1 file to run.