compaq pc/vista/recovery drive RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to this but let me thank anyone who has time to read and help me. Vista has been a nightmare.

Reliability and Performance diagnostic says:

recovery drive d has less than 15% storage left.

microsoft said burn that to disk then clear it so i have space back. and i did the disk, but when i went to view the stuff on

the recovery drive d it shows a huge warning:

THIS AREA OF HARD DRIVE CONTAINS FILES USED FOR PC RECOVERY

DO NOT DELETE OR ALTAR ANY FILES

ANY CHANGE TO THIS COULD PREVENT ANY RECOVERY LATER.

ok so i created the disk. but still i cannot free the space on hard drive. it won't let me.

any suggestions?

should i just ignore this? i am not sure it is critical, but i already had to install more ram and if i can

free up anything i should.

hope that made sense.

PLEASE IF U GOT ANY SUGGESTIONS LET ME KNOW!

here or feel free to email me

stephaniedawnmotes@hotmail.com

or

sommerrainstorm@yahoo.com

Monday, November 5, 2007 4:54 PM

Answers

• Hello Stephanie,

Thank you for your posting and I’ve carefully checked your issue.

Based on my experience, Recovery Drive is regularly designed by manufacturers of computers. It tries to help customers to restore to a clean operating system in a convenient way.

Thus, This is actually not a Windows Vista issue , and we are not the best support resources.

However, I will share some related posts located in HP’s official forums, I really hope it may help.

http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/bizsupport/questionanswer.do?threadId=1116802&admit=-682735245+1194409207628+28353475

http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/bizsupport/questionanswer.do?threadId=1108979

http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/bizsupport/questionanswer.do?threadId=1114735

For further support, please contact HP.