none
Scan for file and report back if it exists RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to scripting and trying to find a way to search for a supposed virus file named wsr[any two numbers]zt32.dll on a large group of computers. I'm not sure how or where to use Get-ChildItem -Path C:\Users -Filter ?zt32.dll -Recurse | export-csv C:\scripts\output\test.csv in this script. 

The below script keeps erroring out when I try messing with the Test-Path options and I'm not sure where to use Get-ChildItem or whatever to get this working. Thanks

##########################################################
    # Edit these variables to fit your enviroment
    # Set file to be tested for, put everything after c:\
    # “c:\Users\Default” is the example path
    $filetofind = ‘wsr*zt32.dll ‘
    # Hostnames TXT Location
    $hostnamestxt = ‘C:\scripts\computernames.txt‘
    # Destination file for Online Machines
    $onlinetxt = ‘C:\scripts\output\Machines_with_file.txt‘
    # Destination file for Offline Machines
    $offlinetxt = ‘C:\scripts\output\Offline_Machines.txt‘

# Begin Executing Script – Do Not Edit Below This Line
    $computers = get-content “$hostnamestxt”

write-host “———————————————-”
    write-host “Scanning hostnames from $hostnamestxt…”

foreach($computer in $computers)
    {
    ping -n 1 $computer >$null
    if($lastexitcode -eq 0)
    {
    if(test-path “\\$computer\c:\users\* -include $filetofind”)
    {
    echo “$computer” | Out-File -Append “$onlinetxt”
    write-host “File FOUND on $computer”
    }
    else
    {write-host “File NOT found on $computer”}
    }
    else
    {
    echo “$computer” | Out-File -Append “$offlinetxt”
    write-host “$computer is OFFLINE/DID NOT RESPOND TO PING”
    }
    }
    write-host “Script has completed please check output.”
    write-host “Hosts with file output location – $onlinetxt”
    write-host “Hosts that were unpingable output location – $offlinetxt”

• Edited by MarcGel Tuesday, January 28, 2014 9:54 PM