locked
Datasheet view bulk update causes updates in undesired column as well RRS feed

  • Question

  • We maintain our issue log on SharePoint. It currently had over 300 entries. We also have a column called “working updates” that is set up as “Multiple lines of text, Plain text , and Yes for “Append Changes to existing text.””  We have added some new columns to improve the list. I now need to populate those columns. When I do a bulk update in datasheet view, a copy of whatever the last working update was gets entered again as another update with my name attached to it, no matter which one of our team members made the original update. Is there a way to prevent that for happening?

    I know that when you change an issue one by one, you can chose to only update certain fields and no updates are made to the working updates section.

    Thursday, August 11, 2011 1:48 PM

Answers

  • That's the way it works.

    Clever programming can get round it but whether that amount of effort is worth it is another matter.

    The "migration" companies thrive mainly because they have people who have spent the time and effort making it possible for who did what and when data to be preserved when things are moved (which is a similar issue). They are not going to give away their secrets here however.


    SP 2010 "FAQ" (mainly useful links): http://wssv4faq.mindsharp.com/default.aspx
    WSS3/MOSS FAQ (FAQ and Links) http://wssv3faq.mindsharp.com/default.aspx
    Both also have links to extensive book lists and to (free) on-line chapters
    Thursday, August 11, 2011 2:52 PM