none
Is this task possible with Projects 2013? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All,

This is my first time playing with Microsoft Projects and I can see there's a lot of potential for me to implement it at my current workplace. What I'd like to do is create a project in Projects 2013 and have the project pushed to either sharepoint calendar or directly to outlook 2013 calendar(which is preferred if possible). Once I'm able to get the project created in Projects 2013 in my Outlook 2013 Calendar I'm looking to create alerts and/or meeting for the people in my company to accept and see the project updated in their calendars.

Is this possible? If so how would I do so?

Wednesday, July 30, 2014 3:40 AM

All replies

• With all due respect, I think you would be mis-using Microsoft Project.  It's a tool for managing the data about projects, executing algorithms for computing project schedules, status, etc.  Perhaps the first step would be for you to purchase and read a good book about Microsoft Project to give you a sense of what it does.  Some of the books touch on integration with SharePoint and Outlook, but such integration does not begin to touch on the value of Microsoft Project.

--rms www.rmschneider.com

Wednesday, July 30, 2014 7:40 AM
  • Hi Jon,

Similar question was raised in this thread.

It seems that synchronization between tasks in Project 2013 and Outlook is not possible.

However you can sychronize tasks with mailbox on Exchange when using Project Server 2013. There is an article describing this here.

Hope that helps.

Best,

Mariusz

Wednesday, July 30, 2014 7:42 AM
  • Really? What about this?

http://www.easytasksync.com/

Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:46 AM
  • Really? What about this?

http://www.easytasksync.com/

Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:46 AM
  • Before you even think about sharepoint, outlook etc, don't you think you should master some of the basics such as creating and running a simple project plan, critical path method etc?