none
Passwords expire and Lock

Question

• Hi,

I'm a developer and I received a test environment from the IT guys that cloned their production AD so I can have all the users and groups.

Now, the users are testing my application on that test environment.

Some users now have a diferente password in PRD then the one they used when the AD was cloned and while trying the use the current password they blocked the test environment account.

I would like to the the following to all the users at once:

1- remove the account locking after 3 failures

2-prevent the accounts from expiring

Note: I saw with adsi in system > "Passwords settings container" is empty.

help is really appreciated.

Thank you,

DD

Monday, February 13, 2017 8:03 PM

Answers

• Hi DD,

In Control Panel -> Programs -> Programs and Features, GPMC is under Feature Admin Tools, not Role Admin Tools.   That should sort it for you.

Cheers,

Stu

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 8:41 AM

All replies

• Hi DD,

I take it IT guys created you an entirely new (test) domain?  If so, if you have appropriate permissions you can use the ADU&C tool and manually disable the accounts from expiring, or you could Powershell it if there are lots of accounts. 

Regarding the account lockouts.  I assume you're running W2K8 domain functional level as this is needed for Password Settings Objects (PSO).  If you have W2K8 DCs you need to use ADSI Edit https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc754461(v=ws.10).aspx), but the process is simpler and can be achieved using the GUI if you're running W2K12 (https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/reference_point/2013/04/12/fine-grained-password-policies-gui-in-windows-server-2012-adac/).  Note that you need to assign PSOs to users and groups.

I hope this helps,

Stu 

Monday, February 13, 2017 10:06 PM
  • Hi Stu,

I wanna assigned it to all users. can't I choose on assignement "everyone" or something like that?

Thank you so much,

DD 

Tuesday, February 14, 2017 12:05 AM
  • Hi DD,