none
Very confused by all of this RRS feed

• General discussion

• I am new at Powershell scripting. I have successfully ran some things but am always confused by what is inside of the scripts we download from here. What and where are exactly what you need to run? It seems like there are tons of documentation in the zip file, and it clutters everythign up for new users. IF I am looking to get a list of all AD users with all properties, what exactly do I enter? When I open the script it is huge so it is overwhelming and confusing. It wodl be much easier if it said enter 

"GETAD bla blah blah" then show where I would need to make edits. How can this be taught to those who are brand new? I am trying hard, man but it seems like people on here go way out of their way to make this seem more complicated than it is, like when an IT guy tries to explain to a Maintenance tech how to clear his cache, but by using big words that only IT pros really "get". I want to learn but how!

I was under the impression that when I download a script, what was inside was what I needed to put in Powershell and simply change the output path, doesn't look that way when there are 15 paragraphs worth of stuff!

Tuesday, February 21, 2017 8:08 PM

All replies

• Don't forget to ask your question. The more specific the question, the better we can help.

-- Bill Stewart [Bill_Stewart]

Tuesday, February 21, 2017 8:39 PM
  • How do you eat an elephant? err, one mouthful at a time!

Get-Module -ListAvailable

Lists modules available, to see the commands in those modules, pick one you like the look of;

Get-Command -Module Defender

The Get-Help is good, first perhaps;

Update-Help -Verbose

Then;

Get-Help Get-MpComputerStatus -Online

Also search for basics not the complete scripts, start with you own basic scripts and search any individual issues to learn.

Tuesday, February 21, 2017 8:49 PM
  • You start by getting a book or by doing a tutorial.

See: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/dd742419