none
Master project/sub-project- multiple links for various sub tasks? RRS feed

• Question

• I am running an overall master project with multiple sub projects (currently 8 but will continue to expand up to 10-15 at time).

I have a master schedule that is divided into phases that each project must go through and each phase lists every projects schedule. For example each project must go through leasing and design so under the leasing phase I show projects 1-8 as indented tasks and their dates they are anticipated to be within that phase and and under design I again show projects 1-8 as indented tasks and the dates that they are anticipated to be within that phase.

In the subproject i would also have these same phases but expand upon the detail that each phase will go through. So project 1 will have a leasing phase and then indented tasks for: property search, contracting, close for example. Ideally this leasing phase for project 1 would roll up and provide the actual dates in the master project.

This would allow me to at a glance see each projects status in a certain phase and if my client wants to know why leasing is taking 40 days I can open that subproject and show them what that over all task of leasing entails.

Is something like this possible? It would likely be lots and lots of linking.

Thursday, March 1, 2018 2:40 AM

All replies

• If you have a project which is composed of tasks which take time (duration) and require resources which cost money, then you have a project which is amenable to modelling in MSP.

Usually, tasks are things which have to be done, and they are things which start with verbs.

It is very hard to give a better answer for your particular case with so little information, but if you can describe a bit more then happy to help.

Thursday, March 1, 2018 7:39 AM
  • AEGault,

The short answer is "yes", Project can do that. You can have multiple levels of indenture through a master/subproject structure.