Concurrent connections to Distriubution Point RRS feed

• Question

• Hey All, SCCM newbie here,

I've just configured SCCM2012 and is running nicely. I'm currently deploying a critical driver update to approximately 600 devices and it is taking a very long time. (about 15 per day). In checking the application deployment status it never shows more than 3 devices downloading/installing at any given time.
    I know my server and network could easily handle the extra load of say, (at least) 30 concurrent devices.
    I've snooped around the settings and have found options for concurrent transfers of software between sites and distribution points but not between distribution points and clients.

Does such a setting exist? Surely this thing can have more than 3 concurrent clients recieving software deployments?
    Could it be anything to do with devices still showing up in Assets and Compliance and receiving the client?

Thanks,

Jackson

Tuesday, April 12, 2016 10:58 PM

Answers

• "The client polling interval is set to 5 minutes."

That is very bad and may be the source of your issue. The client simply doesn't have enough time to catch it's breath let alone actually download and apply the machine policy. Never lower this to less than 15 minutes and is reality, never below 30 minutes. In the vast majority of deployments, the default of 60 minutes works just fine.

Jason | http://blog.configmgrftw.com | @jasonsandys

• Marked as answer by Jackson R Thursday, April 21, 2016 2:32 AM
    Thursday, April 14, 2016 2:36 AM

All replies

• No, there is no explicit option in ConfigMgr for this. It could be controlled directly in IIS, but I don't generally recommend doing it there.

BITS throttling could be effectively doing this; do you have any BTS throttling configured?

There may be some other external factor influencing this. How big is the package? 

I have no idea what your last question means...

Wednesday, April 13, 2016 12:22 AM
  • Thanks for the response Jason.