Who should be able to edit a Change Request? RRS feed

• Question

• I have created a new Change Initiator role from the default one.

I've limited the tasks, views etc. and assigned a group to that role which contains users.

When I create a CR with a user holding that role it is submitted correctly and that user is reflected in the Created By field.  If I try to edit the change request with that user all the fields such as Description, etc are greyed out and cannot be changed.

I tried making the Created By user the AssignedTo/Owner of the CR and still that user cannot edit anything in the CR.

The status of the CR is "In Progress" as there is an manual activity associated with it.  In most cases there would also be a review activity.

As an an administrator I can edit the CR.  So shouldn't the CreatedBy or the AssignedTo/Owner user of the CR be able to edit it after it's been created?

Edit: Also, as the Activity Implementer I am unable to edit any fields in the Manual Activity even though I am also a member of a group that holds the Activity Implementer role.

Edit: Ok, maybe I don't understand the implied permissions correctly. I thought that by default the a CR or Activity could always be edited by the Owner/Creator/AssignedToUser/ActivityImplimenter.  But it seems that the only way to edit a CR or MA after it has been created is if you are a member of the Change Managers role.  Unfortunately that gives you permissions to edit EVERY CR and MA.  At best I could limit that by queue but it is still bad.

If I'm  an AssigntedToUser on an CR, for instance, should I not be able to update the Implementation Results dropdown on the Results tap of the CR?  Because so far it looks like I have to hold the Change Manager role to do this.

As another example, as the Activity Implementer of a MA should I not be able to edit at least the Notes field of the MA?  Again, it looks like I need to be hold the Change Manager Role to do this, which doesn't make any sense to me.