none
Shutdown Time-Out Interval for Transactional Replication RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.

I have noticed that my Transactional Replication started breaking down for the reasons I still cannot explain other than there is some kind of (auto) restart of my DISTRIBUTION Server (it's a dedicated DIST Server, so not the same as the Publishing Server)...but could also be that the Infrastructure guys are doing something to DNS etc. that I am not aware of.

I started to explore this failure, and came across the fact (apart from the fact that the SQL Server Agent on my DIST Server "mysteriously" gets stopped once in a while) that SQL Server Agent > Properties > Job System > Shutdown time-out interval parameter is set to 15 seconds.

Since I have no experience with what this Parameter is in charge of, please advise whether, in the case of Transactional Replication, this should be turned off (if possible at all) or otherwise put to as high a value as possible (due to the fact that LogReader and Distribution Agents should "never" stop executing)?

(please do not paste the official declaration of what this Parameter is in charge of, since I have already read this - I am interested in advice/help based on experience)

With thanks and kind regards,

Bogdan

BogdanU

Thursday, October 10, 2019 1:04 PM

Answers

• Hello, Tom.

Thank you for the fast and helpful answer (especially for the tip about having the Replication on a schedule instead of continuous - I have not given this a thought at all).

The issue I was having with Replication seemed to have come from the change in Linked Server parameters and the changes that the infrastructure colleagues have been implementing. 

I would like to use this opportunity to ask you another thing, please:

Now that I have a SUB DB which is grossly out of sync with reality, I would like to:

1. Remove Subscription
    2. Remove SUB DB
    3. (Re)Create Subscription with the option of adding the new DB