none
Windows 10 / Dell Precision 5510 / BitLocker Recovery Key prompt??? RRS feed

• Question

• As a pilot I am deploying Windows 10 to new Dell Precision 5510s using ConfigMgr 1602.  I am configuring the machines for UEFI.  I am pre-provisioning BitLocker in the Task Sequence.  The Task Sequence deploys successfully.  The machines are built with either the Type-C dock or the Type-C network dongle.  Everything is fine until the Type-c device is removed and the machine rebooted.  The machine will prompt for the Recovery Password.  Once I supply the password, I logon and suspend Bitlocker and reboot and everything is fine again without an Type-C connector connected.  Once one of the two Type-C devices is re-attached and the machine rebooted, I am back to the same scenario where the machine is prompting for the Recovery Password.  This process goes back and forth between Type-C connected and Type-C disconnected over and over.  Any help is resolving this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Additional Info:
    Storing the Recovery Password in AD.
    Windows 10 1511.2 ISO
    Using Group Policy to configure BitLocker.
    Have been using Group Policy to manage Windows 7 computers with BitlLocker enabled.

Thanks,

Mike

• Edited by mniccum Monday, July 18, 2016 6:28 PM
    Monday, July 18, 2016 4:48 PM

Answers

• Hi ,

I do not think it is related to a hardware malfunction too. I was assuming that it is caused by  unexpected hardware configuration changing. Removing or re-attaching Type-c device will cause hardware configuration changing. Also, we could check if there is any error message recorded in Event View when this issue occurred, it should be useful to troubleshoot.

Best Regards

Please remember to mark the replies as an answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Thursday, August 4, 2016 9:47 AM

All replies