none
Percent of Tasks completed by a time frame. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I am very new to Microsoft Project 2010, please excuse me if this is a stupid question. 

I need to see the % of tasks completed by a time frame.  So if there are 5 tasks to do this week and they have done 4 of them the indicator would show 80%.  I was able to easily get an indicator and score-card that shows Actual Work / Work for various time-frames, but management wants to see % of tasks rather than ActualWork / Work metric.  

I have a background in dashboards, data analysis, SQL and such. I have been using Performance Point and the pre-packaged project reporting cubes that come standard, but I don't see a simple 'task compete' vs 'total tasks' with a time-dimension in the cube.

Which option is the easiest way to do it?

1) It already exists in the stock cubes, I need to just go to...

2) Work on inserting Calculated Measures in one of the Cubes using MDX expressions  ( Server Settings -> OLAP Database Management-> Cube Cnfiguration).  (I tried iif([Actual Work]/[Work] = 1,0,1) but the cube failed to build)

3) Use PerformancePoint's "Calculated Metric" feature. (Which I got to work on a task-line level, I just couldn't aggregate it.  The formula was basically if(ActualWork/Work = 1,1,0) )

4) Create a custom cube on the same analysis server using SQL Server Business Intelligence Studio and just run the transformation there.

Thanks for any suggestions.  There seem to be many options and I am not certain as to the best road to go down.

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 8:29 PM

Answers