none
Can not join DNS server to the Domain Controller RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to Microsoft and am preparing a LAB environment for AD, DNS, CA, and NPS servers to test wireless equipment etc.

I also want to take the opportunity to learn Microsoft and want to do a decent install.

I installed all servers via Hyper-V VMs and they installed correctly. I am using Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard GUI for all. For the first server, I created a role for DNS which it completed correctly. I did not do anything else after that....I want to join this to a DC before moving forward.

On the second VM server, I configured it for the AD DS role which it completed successfully. I then promoted it to being a Domain Controller. It is a brand new forest....so no issues there. However, during the install time, it had a check for installing DNS server which I unchecked assuming that I have a separate DNS server to take care of that. So...the installation went ok without any problems. Now, my existing Administrator account on the AD is part of the domain with no problems.

My next plan was to join the DNS server to the DC and I went to where you change the computer name and clicked on join. When I select the option of joining the domain and enter the Domain and click ok...it asks for a username and password. I enter the Administrator and password like the following:

Username: Administrator

Password: <password. The same password created at first time boot of the server>

But I get the error "The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted"

I dont understand why this is the case when I gives me a prompt for username and password and still gives the error message.

Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Thursday, April 14, 2016 5:19 AM

Answers

• Hi

First check dns service healthy and runing on DC,you can check with "dcdiag /test:dns"...